1970 Fiat 124 Coupe wins top honors at Ponte Vedra Auto Show


As the community of Nocatee was waking up Sunday, Sept. 9, volunteers were prepping to receive more than 170 classic and collectable automobiles for the 16th Annual Ponte Vedra Auto Show (PV Auto Show) presented by Fields Auto Group and hosted by the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce.

The annual event was overflowing with attendees, car enthusiasts and vendors, making it the largest auto show in the event’s history. The Best in Show Classic winner was awarded to Giancarlo Fruzzetti for his 1970 Fiat 124 Coupe, earning a perfect score of 100 points. This award was sponsored by Wells Fargo Advisors. The Best in Show 60th Anniversary of Austin- Healey, sponsored by Meehan’s Irish Pub, was awarded to Bill Young, with his 1960 Austin-Healey Bugeye. Charles Cordes, with his 2012 Porsche B59, was awarded the Porsche Jacksonville “For the Spirit of It!” award, sponsored by Porsche of Jacksonville.            

According to Chamber President/ CEO Isabelle Renault, the St. Johns Chamber of Commerce is honored to continue to host this event in Ponte Vedra and to showcase the area to visitors.

“We are proud partners with Fields Auto Group,” Renault said. “This 16th Annual Ponte Vedra Auto Show has been our best yet. The new location within Nocatee allowed us to welcome more vehicles to be exhibited at the show and we are thankful for the PARC Group and Nocatee Community Development District for their support. Also, we could not have successfully produced this event without our volunteers. They have been extremely dedicated and hardworking to ensure that everything runs smoothly.”

Celebrity endurance racecar driver Hurley Haywood was also in attendance signing books and taking photos with fans of all ages. Haywood is well-known for his 40 successful years racing in and winning popular events such as Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring.

To see highlights from this year’s show, visit www.pvautoshow.com.
To learn more about the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce, visit www.sjcchamber.com. The Ponte Vedra Auto Show is funded in part by the St. Johns County Tourist Development Council.

Complete list of award winners

Wells Fargo Advisors - Best in Show Classic, Giancarlo Fruzzetti, 1970 Fiat 124 Coupe
Lexus of Jacksonville, Fields Lexus “Pursuit of Perfection,” Bill Burchette, 2017 Acura NSX
Meehan's Irish Pub, Best in Show 60th Anniversary of Austin-Healey, Bill Young, 1960 Austin-Healey Bugeye

Porsche Jacksonville, Best in Show 70th Anniversary Porsche, Alan Winer, 1959 Porsche 356A T2

Jaguar Land Rover Jacksonville, Best in Show Off-Road, Chris Railing, 1945 Willys MB

Porsche Jacksonville, Porsche Jacksonville “For the Spirit of it!”, Charles Cordes, 2012 Porsche  B59
Florida Crown Region, Florida Crown Region Porsche Heritage Trophy, John Lovejoy, Jr., 1959 Porsche Conv. D
Edward Jones- Karsten Jacobson, Pre War Classic,
Michael Sisco, 1936 Dodge D2 Business Coupe
Berry & Co. Real Estate, Post War Classic Domestic,
George Breslin, 1953 Lincoln Capri
WheelHouse Storage, Post War Classic Euro,
Dennis DuBois, 1966 VW Beetle
Compass Self Storage, Most Outstanding Pony,
Brandon Cipko, 1965 Ford Mustang GT Fastback
Wash Ninja, Judges Favorite Pony Car,
Chris Baldwin, 1969 Chevy Camaro 228
Ponte Vedra Wellness Center, Most Outstanding American Muscle,
Matt Jones, 1986 Grand National
Rockaways Gardens, Judges Favorite American Muscle,
Andy Musil, 1968 Pontiac GTO
Ferran Automotive, Best Exotic,
Randy Lindsey, 2004 360 Challenge Stradale
Topgolf, Custom Car Award,
Roberto Cruz, 1972 VW Bus
Ponte Vedra Golf Carts, Race Car Award
, Mike Ferran, 1966 GT 40 MKIIB
EuroSpec, Most Outstanding Corvette,
Michael Lucas, 1967 Chevrolet Corvette
Pop-A-Lock, Judges Favorite Corvette,
Ronnie and Pam Edge, 1958 Chevrolet Corvette
Freedom Boat Club, Most Outstanding Mustang,
Tom and Peggy Gilliland, 1967 Shelby Mustang GT 500
Ponte Vedra Recorder, Judges Favorite Mustang,
Jeffrey Lowcher, 1969 Ford Mustang, Mach 1
Sensible Recycling, Most Original/Barn Find Award,
Kerry Hunter, 1967 Corvette
Happy Trails, Best Classic Off-Road,
Jon P. Boyton, 1963 Meyers Manx Dune Buggy
Florida Crown Region, Florida Crown Region Future Classic Porsche,
Russell Stapleton, 1968  Porsche 944 Turbo
Health Partners, Future Classic Award Euro,
Graziano Fruzzetti, 2003 Ferrari 360 Spyder
Sawgrass Marriott, Future Classic – Best New Pony Car,
David Grooms, 2017 Ford Shelby GT350R
Florida Blue, Future Classic – Best New Muscle Car
, Fernando Quintana,2018 Dodge Hellcat
Dick's Wings, Future Classic – Best New Corvette,
Sue Norton, 2018 Corvette Grand Sport
AAA, Future Classic – Best New Off- Road,
Chuck Newman, 2003 Stewart Stevenson Light Military Vehicle
St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce, Chambers Choice Award,
Erik Olsen, 1963 Porsche 356B S-90


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment